Sautéed Swiss Chard

Screen Shot 2015-02-05 at 1.18.41 PM

Hi all! Welcome back! I took a little hiatus after my 50th blog post one month ago. Since then I have been to Dallas and watched the Buckeyes’ valiant victory over the Oregon Ducks.

10924628_10152733223958740_7097323526231328250_nAs you can see, it was basically a home game. Then the next weekend I had to miss the first weekend of formal recruitment for top secret reasons but also to see my friends from study abroad! Marie (Germany), Stéfanie (Montreal), Doug (Vancouver), Mara (DC) and I all went to Chicago to hang with our friend Navy! It was such a fun weekend and it was so great to see everyone. It had been over a year, we can’t let it go that long again!

Screen Shot 2015-02-05 at 1.30.21 PM

The next weekend I had formal recruitment and then the next weekend I went to Cincinnati (also had pneumonia) to help find my sister a wedding dress! It was so fun! She looks gorgeous and I can’t wait for October 17 to get here. Now I just have to find my MOH dress. 😉

So between being busy and also on my death bed I haven’t been able to cook that often. I have been able to make some wonderful sautéed swiss chard however! This is perfect as a quick snack, a nice side or even a whole meal! I could it eat it all day every day. Swiss chard is just so beautiful and healthy! So why not add some butter and make it as tasty as possible.

Sautéed Swiss Chard

ingredients: one bunch swiss chard washed & dry, 2 cloves minced garlic, half yellow onion chopped, 2 tbsp butter, pepper to taste and 2 tbsp lemon juice

IMG_8141IMG_8144

Wash and dry your pretty chard, then roughly chop it, keeping the stems as well as your onion and garlic.

IMG_8149IMG_8150

Next, melt your butter and start by sautéing your onion in the garlic until they start to turn translucent. Next, throw your swiss chard on top.

IMG_8151

Let cook for about a minute then sprinkle about 2 tbsp of lemon juice on top and turn over with tongs. Then let cook until desired tenderness.

Finally, enjoy your wonderfully colorful & tasty greens!

IMG_8155

Leave a comment